Comparison: International Food Safety Standards driving confidence in the consumers

Food safety standards are the major backbone in providing quality promises to consumers. Let’s do a brief comparison of the differences between the major and international food safety standards around the globe. As well comparison of food safety standards helps food safety officers to attain info.

So FoodTechSafety listed major and the most popular food safety standards / Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS).

Read more: Certifications important for Food Safety Officer

Food safety standards

  • Understanding Brand Reputation Compliance

What is Brand Reputation Compliance?

Brand Reputation Compliance entails implementing and maintaining systems and processes that align with industry standards and regulations. It involves conducting risk assessments, developing robust quality management systems, and continuously monitoring and improving performance.

Importance of Brand Reputation Compliance in the food industry

Brand reputation is crucial in the food industry as it directly affects consumer trust and loyalty. Compliance with global standards not only ensures the safety and quality of products but also demonstrates a company’s commitment to responsible and sustainable practices. Additionally, adherence to industry standards helps businesses mitigate risks, avoid legal issues, and gain a competitive edge in the market.

So be always informed and educate Food safety officers with the below major food safety standards:

All the above standards belong to the Global Food Safety Initiative scheme (GFSI) ; check the below comparison table :

CERTIFICATE  VALIDITY Certificate valid for 1 year  Grade C-Recertification  within 6 months Certificate valid for 1 year Certificate valid for 1 year. Grade C-Recertification within  6 months Certificate valid for 3 years
INTEGRATED AUDIT As recertification is depending on the result of the audit. Grade C is to be 6 months so interval or integrated condition will be changed depending. Not allowing integration with  ISO management system standard, allows to integrate with product certification scheme. Different management system  structure, also possible for  integrated audit Same management system  structure as ISO standard so it  is easy to integrate with other  management system standards
RECERTIFICATION/ MAINTENANCE  VISIT Same audit time as  Certification visit Same audit time as  Certification visit Same audit time as Stage 2  on site Less audit time than Stage 2  on site
CERTIFICATION  MARK Not allow to be displayed on the product Not allow to be displayed  on the product Level 3 certification can use  certification mark on the product Not allow to be displayed on the product
Quality and food safety Quality and food safety Level 2 Food Safety Level 3
Include Quality
(need to conduct food safety
analysis, define critical
quality control point)
Food Safety
Prescriptive requirements Prescriptive requirements Some requirements are
prescriptive Require SQF
practitioner (full-timer)
Provide framework
requirements for the company
to demonstrate how to comply
and demonstrate their food
safety system
By Certification body and
Standard owner
By Certification body and
Standard owner
The company needs to register in
Quick-fire prior to certification
By Certification body and
Standard owner
No stage 1 – Company can
easily go direct to on-site
certification audit
No stage 1 – Company can
easily go direct to on-site
certification audit
Stage 1 on-site or off-site Stage
2 on site
Stage 1 on-site or off site. Stage
2 on site
Others Any Major non-conformity found
during Stage 1 need to be
closed out prior to stage 2 audit
Critical from stage 1 to be closed
out during
Stage 2 audit
Comparison of major food safety standards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *